5 Stages of Development

Stages of Development

As we have read, different theories propose different stages of development. This page displays the stages of development for Piaget, Erikson, and Freud. The following information provides a quick reference for these three theories.

Stages of Development

Piaget Stages of Cognitive Development

Sensorimotor (birth– 2 years)

Preoperational (2–7 years)

Concrete Operations (7–11 years)

Formal Operations (12+ years)

Erikson Stages of Psychosocial Development

Trust Vs. Mistrust (birth–18 months)

Autonomy Vs. Shame (18 months–3 years)

Initiative Vs. Guilt (3–5 years)

Industry Vs. Inferiority (5–12 years)

Ego Identity Vs. Role Confusion (12–18 years)

Intimacy Vs. Isolation (18–40 years)

Generativity Vs. Stagnation (40–65 years)

Ego Integrity Vs. Despair (65+ year)

Freud Stages of Psychosexual Development

Oral (birth–1 year)

Anal (1–3 years)

Phallic (3‐6 years)

Latency (6–12 years)

Genital (12+ years) (1)


Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License

Child and Adolescent Psychology Copyright © by Lumen Learning is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

Share This Book